NineHeavensMaster
▶ Godbound
2018-02-07T03:15:12.589Z

In the text for the greater gift Searing Blade, it reads as such:

Commit Effort. You wield fire as a weapon, either limning a blade in it or using projections of it as a magical weapon with a 200 foot range and 1d10 damage die. Individual victims killed by this explode into flames, doing a 1d6 damage die to all desired targets within 20 feet. This gift's damage is always rolled straight against Mobs of lesser foes.

How does this gift function if using it against a Mob of worthy foes? How do you determine how many enemies explode, and how much damage is caused as a result? Or is it three separate sentences, provisions for different situations?

Niall O'Donnell
2018-02-07T03:15:12.589Z

Regarding Mobs of worthy foes: I think we can fall back on the general rule where there is no specific rule overriding it. So, generally damage is rolled against the damage chart unless specified otherwise: a Mob of worthy foes takes damage as determined by the damage chart.

Regarding individual victims exploding: the Mob rules (p. 152) specify: "It’s always up to the GM as to whether a particular group of foes should be treated as a Mob or as individuals." I'd take the use of "individual" here to mean that damage dealt to a Mob does not trigger this part of the gift; this is an extra effect that applies to slain foes the GM is treating as individuals.

In general, the rules for gifts are broken into connected but separate sentences—in almost all cases, my interpretation is that each sentence is read as a separate rule.

Kevin Crawford
2018-02-07T03:15:12.589Z

Against Mobs of worthy foes, the damage is not rolled straight.

When used against Mobs, it doesn't matter how many explode- that's why you're rolling straight damage, because all these dudes you're slaughtering are blowing up and hurting everyone around them.

NineHeavensMaster
2018-02-07T03:15:12.589Z

Thank you kindly!