David Bartram
▶ Godbound
2017-09-13T16:41:42.026Z

How does Shoulders Wide As The World interact with Descent of the Mountain? Can you throw a house in combat for 1d12 damage on a large area, or does the caveat in Shoulders prevent you from using it with Descent?

Kevin Crawford
2017-09-13T16:41:42.026Z

Things you manipulate with Shoulders can't be used for violent ends- if you tried to throw the house at somebody, it'd disintegrate as soon as you tried to hurl it, because a house can't hold together without magic when you lift it.

If you could lift a big thing with Descent of the Mountain, sure, you could pitch it at an area. Of course, it'd have to affect enough of an area to hit a meaningful number of Mob targets to be treated as an AoE for Mob straight damage purposes.

David Bartram
2017-09-13T16:41:42.026Z

+Kevin Crawford ‚Äč Thanks for your reply. I still feel like I'm missing something. Why does Descent talk about large thrown objects doing 1d12 damage to an area, if you can't throw an object big enough? Both Shoulders and Thews of the Gods forbid combat use, so how could a Godbound ever use Descent to throw something big enough to hit more than one target?

Jon Moyer
2017-09-13T16:41:42.026Z

Here's my take.

PCs with Descent can lift and throw items to do 1d12 damage. It's basically a way for Might to get a non-magical ranged attack. However, PCs with just Descent won't be able to do area attacks, because they can't lift objects heavy enough that would be able to cover a wide area.

PCs with just Shoulders or just Thews can lift heavy objects, but they won't be able to use the objects they lift in combat.

However, a PC with Descent and Shoulders/Thews, can now lift objects big enough to cover a wide area. Basically, the combination of Descent and Shoulders/Thews gives the PC "permission" to do a ranged area attack.

I read the limitations in Shoulders and Throws as " you can't use these Gifts to attack ... unless you have another gift like Descent."

My take may or may not be official, but that'd be my ruling. :)