Guilherme Lamar
▶ Stars Without Number
2019-01-26T01:19:55.143Z

Hey guys, I have a question about Stars Without Number, and I am hoping someone knows the answer to this (I just started DM'ing it recently)

If a player gets Unarmed Combatant Lvl 2, and has a Punch skill of 1, how much damage they can dish out when missing someone bellow the Shock AC?

I mean, the Lvl 1 text reads "At Punch-1 or better, they have the Shock quality
equal to your Punch skill against AC 15 or less"

But they do "unmodified 1d6 damage" on a miss (per Lvl 2 text)

My guess is, if this player misses an attack on a guy with AC 14, he does 1d6+1? I want to make sure though.

Edit: Just to clarify my reasoning: It isn't JUST 1d6 whenever is it? I am thinking not, because if so, a PC with a Punch 4 and Unarmed Combatant Lvl 1 would do better damage on a miss when compared to someone with Unarmed Combatant Lvl 2, if they both attacked low AC enemies. I mean, a guaranteed 4 is better than a 1d6. Am I getting something wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Josh Peters
2019-01-26T01:19:55.143Z

Neat question. I'd give the Shock as the minimum damage, even if it means that the minimum damage on 1d6 is 4 or 5 points. Also, that works well with Savage Fray...

Jon Moyer
2019-01-26T01:19:55.143Z

I would say a PC with Punch-1, Str mod +1, and Unarmed Combatant 2 who attacked someone with AC 14 and got an attack roll result of 13 (a miss, but shock is activated) would do 1 + 1 + 1d6 damage (Shock + Str mod + 1d6).

If this same PC attacked someone with AC 17 and missed (shock isn't activated no matter what the PC's attack roll result is), then they would do just 1d6 damage.

I hadn't thought of it before, but I like the idea of counting the 1d6 on a miss that Unarmed Combatant 2 grants as shock damage. It's not explicitly defined as such, but a player who invests two Foci into this and another into Savage Fray is definitely making a statement that they'd like their PC to be a minion clearer. I'm okay with that.

Jon Moyer
2019-01-26T01:19:55.143Z

Actually, re-reading the Shock rules on page 68 it says "Shock damage always includes the wielder’s attribute modifier and any bonus damage granted by weapon mods, foci, advanced tech, or other damage bonuses." So I think it's pretty much official that the 1d6 damage is folded into Shock.

Kevin Crawford
2019-01-26T01:19:55.143Z

If you miss, you do 1d6 damage in addition to any Shock that is or isn't done.

Guilherme Lamar
2019-01-26T01:19:55.143Z

Thanks for the answers people. I'm glad to know I was on the right track with this. And thanks for the amazing game +Kevin Crawford , my players and me are having a blast.